x checkmark sr arrow-right brouchure calendar check clock close compass conference download easel epal facebook food-and-shopping food fullscreen grid halls harpa-icon harpa sinfo instagram leaf like listi magnify mail menu minify minus move music opera pictures play plus qoute recording search select-alt select shopping simple-arrow-left simple-arrow-right sitemap telephone ticket twitter youtube spotify snapchat linkedin youtube

Meraki Trio / Unnur Birna & Bjössi Thor

Reykjavík Jazz 2020

This event has passed

19:30 – Meraki Trio

Meraki Trio consists of Rósa Guðrún Sveinsdóttir (baritone saxophone and flute), Sara Mjöll Magnúsdóttir (piano) and Þórdís Gerður Jónsdóttir (cello). They have been active since 2018, performing several times in Freyjujazz concert series at the National Gallery of Iceland as well as at various other venues. Unconventional instrumentation gives the trio the chance to approach arrangements and improvisation from many different angles.
Meraki trio performs original music as well as putting their own spin on music by various artist.

They are currently working on their first album with original music.


Rósa Guðrún Sveinsdóttir: flute, baritone sax
Sara Mjöll Magnúsdóttir: piano
Þórdís Gerður Jónsdóttir: cello

20:45 Unnur Birna & Bjössi Thor

Unnur Birna and Björn Thor put together their band in 2018 and hit the road immediately with a series of well received concerts around Iceland. The repertoire is comprised of their favourite songs and showcases their talent in a tasteful manner. Accompanying them are two excellent musicians, Skúli Gíslason on drums and Sigurgeir Skafti Flosason on bass. While providing a tight foundation to the music they do not shy away when called to the spotlight, both being outstanding soloists.

With all members having a diverse and well trained musical background, together they spin jazz, rock, pop and blues into colourful yarn with a classical silver lining resulting in a rich tapestry of music that leaves the audience delighted and wanting more.


Unnur Birna: vocals and violin
Björn Thoroddsen: guitar
Sigurgeir Skafti Flosason: bass
Skúli Gíslason: drums