x checkmark sr arrow-right brouchure calendar check clock close compass conference download easel epal facebook food-and-shopping food fullscreen grid halls harpa-icon harpa sinfo instagram leaf like listi magnify mail menu minify minus move music opera pictures play plus qoute recording search select-alt select shopping simple-arrow-left simple-arrow-right sitemap telephone ticket twitter youtube spotify snapchat linkedin youtube

Kordo String Quartet

Classical Sundays

Þessi viðburður er liðinn

The newly formed Icelandic string quartet, Kordo Quartet, will make their debut by playing quartets by Mozart, Webern and Borodin. The string quartet no. 21 in D-major by Mozart is the first one of the so called Prussian Quartets, composed for the Prussian king, Friedrich Wilhelm II, who played the violoncello as a hobby. This composition is in a style similar to Joseph Haydn string quartets.

Six bagatelles Op. 9 by Anton Webern take only around 5 minutes to perform but are, despite their shortness, an important step in the development of the atonal style of music of the 19th century.

The concert ends with the marvelous and romantic string quartet no. 2 by Alexander Borodin.

The violinists Vera Panitch and Páll Palomares were recently hired as leaders of Iceland Symphony Orchestra. Vera is the 2nd concertmaster and Páll is the principal of 2nd violin. Páll is one of the most known violinists of his generation. He has won prizes in several competitions both nationally and internationally and performed as a soloist with many orchestras around Europe. Vera is born in Denmark but has a Russian and Ukranian background. She has won prizes in several competitions and recently finished her soloist diploma from the Royal Danish Academy of Music in Copenhagen.

The violist Þórarinn M. Baldursson has been an active member of the Icelandic music society for many years. Besides being a member of Iceland Symphony Orchestra he has performed with big and smaller ensembles like Caput, Iceland Chamber Orchestra, Elektra Ensemble and Kúbus.

Hrafnkell Orri Egilsson cellist has been a member of Iceland Symphony Orchestra from the year 2002 and is performing at the momet as Co-princilpal cellist. In the season 2000-2001 was Hrafnkell Orri a member of Lübeck Philharmonics. Besides being a member of Reykjavik Chamber Orchestra today he performs regularly with several other ensembles.

W. A. Mozart (1756-1791)   ca.24min
String Quartet Nr.21in D major, K. 575, ”Prussian No.1”
1. Allegretto
2. Andante
3. Menuetto. Allegretto…
4. Allegretto

A. Webern (1883-1945)   ca.3-4min
Six Bagatellen Op. 9
1. Mässig
2. Leicht bewegt
3. Ziemlich fliessend
4. Sehr langsam
5. Äusserst langsam
6. Fliessend

A. Borodin (1833-1887)   ca.28min
String Quartet in D major
1. Allegro Moderato
2. Scherzo. Allegro
3. Andante
4. Finale. Andante – Vivace
5. Tango – Valse – Rag